Last Weekend with my Host Family

After classes, classes, and more classes, Sunday finally arrived! Similar to last Sunday, we were free to spend the entire day with our host families (without any classes, of course). Today my host Mom taught me how to make dumplings – so William and I spent an hour with Mom making dumplings.

Here are the steps if you want to make them yourself:

  • Take a flat, round piece of dough
  •  Put a decent amount of filling (pork mixed in with a type of tomato salad) on the dough
  • Wrap the filling using the dough, and use water to seal the edges of the dough
  • They are ready to be cooked!

Unfortunately since the dumplings contained pork, I could not eat them. After our cooking adventure, we saw Legend of Tarzan in a nearby movie theater. The movie was in English, but I tried my best to read the Chinese subtitles. After the movie, we went to an amusement park and I went on a cool ride in which you controlled the speed of a car on a long slide. The first few times I came down the slide in a controlled fashion, but the last time I went as fast as possible and it was so much fun!

After a long and exhausting day, my family took me out to the only Indian restaurant in Xiamen – “Indiano John’s Samrat” (ranked #2 out of 1456 restaurants in Xiamen, according to TripAdvisor) where I ordered some naan and enjoyed watching my family try out spicy Indian food for the first time. Back at home, my brother helped me with my homework, which was to learn, understand, and be able to use Chinese proverbs such as “It is easy to do something, but hard to do it well,” or “It doesn’t matter if you win or lose, you must keep trying”.  A fun day with a lot of cool new experiences, as I enter my final week here in Xiamen.

My host family has made a lot of effort to make me feel at home and satisfy my every wish. They are really very sweet and generous and I will be forever grateful to their hospitality. A wave of sadness came over me when I realized that I will be leaving my host family this Friday. I am really going to miss them very much!

 

Leave a comment